How to post to the News feed

The News feed is your setting's virtual bulletin board. Sending posts to the News feed is an easy way of keeping parents or staff informed about what is going on in your setting. A post gives you the opportunity to write a short message and add pictures, video or documents.

Creating a new post

  • Start by selecting who you want to send the post as, in the white box at the top of the screen. You can choose:

    • yourself (you cannot post as another member of staff)

    • a room/group

    • or as the setting itself

  • Next, select your recipients- who you want to send the post to.
    This is key if you want to share a photo with a specific child's parents, send a reminder about a trip to all the parents of one room, or share some photos of an event with the whole setting. Select as many recipients as you want, by clicking on their name.

    If you're posting about something private to a specific group, check that your staff do not have the permission to 'view all sent posts' enabled.

    You may notice that the name of a room appears twice - that's because you can select children and staff separately.

Adding an attachment

The largest area of the post is where you can write your message, and below that you will find the ‘Upload’ button. Here you can attach:

  • a picture (a photo, or a scanned drawing or painting, for example)

  • videos

  • documents

  • multiple pictures, to create a photo gallery.

N.B. The maximum file for a video or documents 1024mb and the maximum image size is 200kb, with a maximum resolution of 2560x2560 px

Adding an Activity from the 'Activity Library'

To find out about adding an activity from the 'Activity Library' to your News feed, you can visit the 'Activity Library' article below:

Starting a Famly Live session

To find out about starting a Famly Live session on your News feed, you can visit the 'Famly Live' article below:

Famly saves a draft and stores it in the icon in the upper right corner of the post box, in case you get interrupted when writing a post. When you have time, go back and find the draft, finish your post and send it by pressing the ‘Send’ button.


Bookmarking a post on the News feed

It is possible to bookmark certain posts if you would like them to be easily accessible. This might be your favourite posts, or ones which you wish to view frequently.

You could, for example, request parents book-mark a post about a certain policy, to refer back to later.

To bookmark a post,

  • Click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the post

  • Select the star icon or 'Bookmark' from the drop-down menu

  • You are able to un-star it at any point to remove the bookmark.

Bookmarks are all stored in the same place, at the top of the News feed screen. Click 'My News' and select 'Bookmarks' from the drop-down menu.


Changing permissions on a post

You can choose if you want to disable the possibility of parents commenting on your post. You do this by clicking the three dots ( · · · ) next to the send button. These don't appear until you've written something in the text field.


Permissions to view all posts

If you wish to share certain posts with only a specific group, make sure your staff do not have the 'view all sent posts' permission enabled as part of their role. To check this:

  • Click the 'Settings' menu (indicated by the cog icon)

  • Click on 'Staff' then on 'Roles and Permissions'

  • Click on each role and scroll to the 'Communication and Events' permissions

  • Make sure 'See all sent posts' is not checked.


Controlling which names are seen in your News feed

The privacy and safety of your children and families is your highest priority, so you can control how names are shown in the News feed, the likes, and the comments. To do this:

  • Log in to Famly and click on ‘Settings’

  • Select ‘Communication’, then ‘News feed’. A new window will open (as below)
    Employees with the ‘Manage enabling/disabling features’ permission can make these changes.

  • You can choose between:

    • The full name of the parent/carer and the first name of the child

    • The first name of parent/carer and the first name of the child

    • The first name of the parent/carer and no child information

    • Additionally, you can choose whether the child’s room is shown or not.

  • Click 'Save changes'

I need more help:

Did this answer your question?