Your Messaging Inbox

See an overview of your inbox

Josie avatar
Written by Josie
Updated over a week ago

Employee View

Private: Here you can write a private message to parents or an employee - only those who are a recipient can see the message. You must specifically select the name of the recipient so that there is a green cross next to the name.

  • Please note, you can send a message to a maximum of 50 recipients at a time. We recommend creating a newsfeed post if you want to reach more recipients

Team: This inbox allows you to communicate with a room. These messages can be read by all employees who have marked the room as a favourite by starring it. You also have the option to upload photos and attach documents to a message.

All: Those who have permission to send messages directly to parents also have this inbox, here you can see all the rooms, even those that are not marked as favourites.

  • Regarding permissions, if employees have the permissions for "Send messages directly to parents (not via team)" then employees can send private messages to parents - as well as parents directly to employees, without other employees seeing the message.

  • If employees do not have the permission to directly message parents ticked off they can only send messages from team inbox, which other employees in that room can also see.


Parent View

A parent's view of their inbox may look something like this:

Here they'll have the option to message their child's classroom (this the Opal room in the screenshot above).

Parents can also send messages to Management. This can be for administrative and private concerns that they'd rather not share in a group message.

*Note: There is no way to stop parents from having this option.


Search within Messages

If you're looking to find a particular message or message thread, you can use the search bar within your messaging inbox to filter for:

  • Recipients of the message

  • Key terms within a message or thread

You can search for message recipients directly within your messaging inbox, or using the global search function in your app by selecting Messages:


Name your Conversations

You also have the option to name conversations in your inbox, which makes finding a particular thread a little easier. Conversation names can be searched for in the same way that recipients can be, via the search bar in your messaging inbox.

Please note, this option is only available for staff members, not for parents.

To name a conversation

  • Navigate to your inbox

  • Click on the conversation you'd like to name

  • Click on Actions and choose Name conversation from the dropdown

  • A pop-up will appear where you can enter a new name

  • Remember to click Save to update your changes!

  • The new name will be displayed in the sidebar in your conversation overview, replacing the name(s) of the recipient(s)

  • You can rename conversations by repeating this process

  • If you'd like to remove a name from a conversation, just delete the name you entered in the pop-up so the field is blank and save it - the previous name will be removed


Archive and Delete Messages

The Actions dropdown also allows you to archive and delete messages.

To delete a message, click on Actions and select Delete messages. Then, select all the messages you'd like to delete. You can only delete your own messages in a thread, other people's messages cannot be deleted by anyone but themselves.

To archive a conversation, click on Archive conversation from the Actions dropdown. This conversation will be moved to your archive, which you can access by clicking on Inbox, then switching to Archived:


Did this answer your question?